“Share if you hate….”


One of my pet hates is the amount of pointless posts on social media sites. Facebook seems to be worse, but it seems Twitter is starting to catch up.

I’m talking about the “repost if you want a cure for cancer” rubbish. Of course we want a cure for cancer, but sharing a pic of a young girl, bald from chemo, isn’t going to make a cure come any quicker!

And that horrible one that keeps coming back where you’re asked to repost the photo of two teenage boys torturing a puppy in the hope that somebody recognises the boys. Don’t get me wrong, I hope they’re caught and punished in a similar way, but I DON’T NEED TO KEEP SEEING IT!

My problem is I think too much. My brain gets hold of something and like a dog with a bone it’ll keep at it. I’ll wake in the night thinking of the poor puppy. I’ll have nightmares. It’ll be all I see when I close my eyes, until the next senseless cruelty picture is posted that is.

I can’t be the only person affected by these. Can I?

The way I see it, is the people who don’t care just ignore it, and the people who do care are upset by it. So if you repost this stuff, you’re hurting the wrong group of people.

Maybe it’s time to move on from this, and start using social media for the purpose it was created for: to stay in touch with friends.

Leave a Reply

