I Love My Job!


I love my job. It’s exhaustingly hard work, a delicate balancing act and a constant challenge, but I love it.

In addition to my actual job role I also have many other roles to play.

I provide IT support. I research extra material. I provide Reception duties. I proof read. I help judge competitions. I assist at events. I locate information for colleagues. I check invoices. I compile reports for people when needed. And I often end up being my boss’s PA.

And that’s on top of my actual job, where I already have a huge amount to do:

I manage the database. I manage the adverts on 2 websites. I moderate two public forums. I keep our domains (currently over 30) up to date. I follow all auctions that are selling a certain product and upload the data to one of our web pages. I’m responsible for all circulation issues, the online store and our subscriptions bureau. I ensure the server is backed up successfully daily, and monitor data levels. I upload 14 magazines a year to our websites. I manage the digital editions of 3 magazines. I update all software and hardware when needed. I raise invoices. I manage our Retail Partners through Affiliate Window. I download product feeds. I create reports from Google Analytics. I use Google Adserver. I research app and e-book developers.

This is all my ‘regular’ work – so doesn’t include other projects I’m given (which happens at least once a week, usually more). And I’m sure there’s more that I’ve missed out.

But I love my job. I look forward to going to work. The challenges are often great but it’s so stimulating. I’m not an expert in many of the tasks above; quite often I have to research what I need to do online before I start work. But to me, that’s fun.

I love to find things out. I love to learn new things. My workload is almost too much but I find it exhilarating working three heartbeats from total meltdown. I find it really focuses my mind. And I don’t feel stressed while I’m doing it.

Some people say this is because I’m a mum. That once you’ve had a kid you can cope with crazy demands on tight deadlines. But I disagree.

I was born like this. I need to be busy. Unplanned periods of inactivity are painful.

My tempo is quick. I talk quickly, I laugh quickly and I work quickly.

And I’ve always been like that.

In college, my Theatre Studies tutor did an activity with my class. We had to stand in a line, blindfolded, and then we had 30 seconds to walk forwards as slowly as we could – and we weren’t allowed to stand still.

At the end of the 30 seconds we took our blindfolds off and looked at where we were. At the time I was shocked to see how far across the drama hall I was compared to my classmates, but now when I look back it makes sense to me.

At one point about 5 years ago I was working 5 different jobs, volunteering at my daughters school, studying for a degree – and I still had time to take my daughter to swimming lessons, football club, and anything else she was doing at the time.

My conclusion is I’m in the perfect job for my tempo. I’m never going to tell my boss to ease up on giving me more projects, because I can cope with anything.

Leave a Reply

