Stating the Obvious


It always amazes me how many redundant things we say. I’m as guilty of it as the next person, but that doesn’t stop it being annoying.

I’m talking about those stupid comments; the ones that slip out without you realising.

“I’ve booked my holiday for next year!”
“Oooh….going anywhere nice?”

As IF the other person would say no to that…”well, actually I’ve booked into a Shanghai prison for a week, they had a special offer on interrogations…”

Another example is when you turn up at a friends house looking like a drowned rat, they open the door and say “Is it raining?”

“Actually no – I carried a bucket of water all the way here just so I could pour it over my head right before I knocked on your door!”

What makes us do that? Is there some in-built primeval urge that makes us want to sound as stupid as possible?

Or is it that we, as a race, just don’t like silences? We prefer to say something, anything, rather than nothing at all.

I suppose that could be an evolutionary trait. It’s the noisiest cub that gets the attention (food) so perhaps it’s programmed into us to make as much noise as possible whenever we can.

But, to be honest, I agree with the wise words “it is better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubt”.

Leave a Reply

