Small Team Work Problems


I think we all have those days at work where you feel like you’re the only person working. There you are, drowning in paperwork, and when you finally come up for air you realise that the entire office next door has gone home. Some didn’t come in at all; the rest left over three hours early.

My conscience won’t let me be like that. Myself and my one remaining colleague decided we’d leave half an hour earlier to catch the earlier bus/train, but I feel guilty just for that.

And for no reason! I’m normally in the office, working, at about half past eight, and I start at nine. I never have a lunch break – I might pop to the shop but I always eat at my desk while working. Often I stay until six, when we finish at five thirty. And I take work home.

And to top it all, I’m the lowest paid member of staff! That, I intend to start rectifying as soon as I have my appraisal.

I’m not a perfectionist, I just don’t understand people who don’t pull their weight – especially when you work in a small team. And the infuriating thing is they get away with it week after week.

I’m paid to do a job, and I intend to do it and do it well. Otherwise I wouldn’t expect to be paid.

I just wish everybody felt the same.

Leave a Reply

