Do Clothes Make the Man?


When I was a teenager I used to go clothes shopping with my best friend. We had a silly thing we’d do, where we each picked out something the other wouldn’t normally wear and then we’d go into the changing rooms and try them on.

Invariably, the item of clothing in question always looked great, was purchased and ended up a firm wardrobe favourite.

I suppose it’s all too easy, even as a teen, to play safe and stick with the styles and colours you know work well on you.

Those of you who know me, or have read earlier posts will know that over the last two years I have been trying to discover who I am. My identity had been lost and I needed to learn who I was and what I liked again.

This was at the back of my mind while clothes shopping a couple of weeks ago. In a sudden teenage flashback I grabbed two tops that I loved but would NEVER wear and went to try them on.

I’m so glad I did! I’m not a lover of my own reflection normally, but they made me look like the kind of person I wanted to be: confident, sure of myself and carefree. I took the plunge and bought them both.

Two weeks passed and today I finally plucked up the courage to wear one of them to work.

I’ve felt amazing all day! I sailed through problems, dealt with queries and annoyances, and felt totally on top of everything.

How can a simple top make me feel so different? It just doesn’t seem possible.

Do clothes really make the man? I suppose that depends on the type of person you are, but in my case: Yes! They do!

I will be experimenting with my clothing choices a lot more from now on!

Leave a Reply

