Drunken Text

drunk text

The evenings getting late and I’m sitting here alone,
Trying to keep busy but keep looking at my phone.
I sent a text while drunk last night and it’s playing on my mind,
It was a message to an amazing friend and they are hard to find.
My text said he was on my mind and I wished that he was here,
But I’ve heard nothing from him all day and I’m really starting to fear
That he’s offended or disgusted by what I had to say,
And now he’s trying desperately to quietly back away.
I know, he could be busy or just not had time to reply,
But he also could be angry and think my friendship was a lie,
And think all I ever wanted was him and me as one,
When really I just wanted a friend, something light and fun.
It’s true, feelings have developed that I don’t know how to hide,
Plus hiding would be dishonest and I try to never lie.
But don’t let it come between us, as our friendship is so great
If I can’t have you as anything else I still want you as my mate.
I trust you with everything, you know me inside out
And you never take the piss out of any of the crap I spout
Instead, you support me, give me confidence and praise
I hope you’re in my life somehow, for the rest of my days.
I worry that I can’t give you all that you give me
I hate feeling it’s all one way – I worry I’m too needy
But here, I make a promise. A vow forever true
If ever you need anything, I will be there for you.
x

2 thoughts on “Drunken Text

  1. I don’t even have to be drunk to send those kind of messages… just… lonely sometimes. But what are friends for if you can’t reach out to them with a simple “hello friend? you got time for me?”

Leave a Reply

