New Year’s Eve

new years eveNew Year’s Eve. A time for people to look back on the past year and work out if it went according to plan. To make plans and formulate strategies for the coming year.

A quick glance at Facebook at this time of year will reveal plenty of status updates alluding to this:

“2012 has been a hard year, but I know 2013 will be better!”

“I can’t believe I’ve made it through this year. Thanks to all my friends who got me through. 2013 is gonna be MY year, just you watch me!”

Call me a cynic but I bet this time last year the same people posted very similar statuses. And the year before….

Do the people who don’t post these statuses have great years? No! They just move on quickly and refuse to dwell on the bad stuff.

Everybody has hard times. Everybody. Nobody just glides through life without a care in the world. The trick is to not give the bad times too much importance. Deal with it while you have to then put it behind you and never look back. Whatever the future brings, you want to meet it face on.

I’m not trying to be blasé about it; it is hard. And when it feels the hardest is when you need to do it the most. But life will feel better if you only look forward.

Happy New Year x

Leave a Reply

