Guns N’ Roses – Estranged

First up I want to apologise for being late with today’s Song of the Week. What can I say…..? All the disruptions caused by the snow have had me forgetting the days of the week!

Today’s song pretty much sums up my week. I’ve been a little all over the place, struggling with demons I should know better than to mess with. That’s why I’ve not posted since last Sunday. Rest assured though. I’m back on track and will be posting regularly again.

The lyrics of this track resonate with me:
“When I find out all the reasons
Maybe I’ll find another way
Find another day
With all the changing seasons of my life
Maybe I’ll get it right next time”

We all make mistakes and sometimes I beat myself up a little too much over mine.

Some people believe this song is a self-indulgent reference to Axl’s suicide attempts but in interviews he says it’s about dealing with unrequited love and being completely helpless. Either way, the music and lyrics are beautiful and let you know that you’re not alone in how you feel.

Enjoy, and be kind to yourselves.

Leave a Reply

