Fighting Animal Cruelty

redwinds
I’ve always been more than a little of the belief that the life of an animal is just as important, if not more so, than the life of a person. I don’t know where that belief came from; it’s not how I was brought up, it’s just a feeling I was born with and it’s never left me.

I was vegetarian for many years; I gave it up not long after I gave birth to my daughter and to this day I regret giving it up. I often think about trying it again, in fact my daughter and I spoke about it only this week, so maybe it will happen. Who knows.

Anyway, I digress. My point was meant to be that I hate even the thought of animals being mistreated in any way whatsoever, so imagine how disgusted I was when I saw this:

http://www.redwings.org.uk/news-caerphilly2013.php

For those of you who haven’t read this story it tells of 34 horses and ponies being rescued by a couple of charities including Redwings Horse Sanctuary. They had been left with no food, shelter or water; some had already died and the rest were waiting to. 26 have been brought back to Redwings in Norfolk where hopefully they will recover from their horrific ordeal and live out the rest of their lives peacefully.

As this story above points out, and as I first thought when I heard it this morning, it’s a similar story to the Amersham case back in 2008. I remember that well; in fact I remember the sleepless nights I had just going over it again and again in my head, unable to let it go.

I’ve always been a supporter of Redwings even since I was a kid and my folks used to take me. The place has changed a lot but I still visit regularly with my daughter. We’ve visited three of their four sites over the years and I’m always happy to donate money to them when you can easily see the good work they do.

All I want to say is please be nice to animals. If you witness anything you know is wrong please call the RSPCA. Let’s not let any other animals get to this sad state.

Leave a Reply

