This is my Life

proud to be me

I’m perfectly happy with myself at last;
I’ve finally managed to shake off my past.
I know who I am and I know what I’m doing;
I have new dreams that I’m wholeheartedly pursuing.

Dreams weren’t a part of my life before;
It never occurred to me to look for more.
I plodded along, through every week; every year,
Never realising I was stuck in first gear.

Boundaries were set and I didn’t even know;
I wasn’t myself; I couldn’t grow.
Now I’m free and my life is my own,
I’m having more fun than I’ve even known.

I’ve made new friendships and rediscovered my smile;
I didn’t know it hadn’t been seen for a while,
Now it is seen often, rarely out of sight,
Because now I know my future is bright.

I have music, books, and the sun in my soul
These things complete me; make me feel whole.
I have finally found my voice as a writer,
It’s going to be hard but I am a fighter.

The road will be long but my friends will be there
To give me a smile and show me they care,
And when I get there I will shout it out loud:
“This is my life – and I am proud!”.

Leave a Reply

