Billy Joel – Uptown Girl

This isn’t my favourite Billy Joel song. That accolade goes to Piano Man. But this song was mine and my best friend’s anthem, when we were little.

I’m not even sure how it started but we used to sing this at the top of our voices whenever it was on the radio. I seem to remember her folks had a cassette with it on in their car.

I won’t quote the lyrics because they weren’t the important bit. The important bit was me and my best friend loved it. We had such a great time when we were kids. We’ve stayed in touch ever since, although not like we were. I guess our circumstances have changed, our lives moved in different directions and life just gets in the way.

We’ll always be friends though. Of that, I am certain.

Leave a Reply

