Katy Perry – The One That Got Away

This song has been in my head for a couple of weeks, probably because a couple of weeks ago I got chatting to an old school friend I hadn’t seen in 20 years.

Way back in the dim and distant past (at the tender age of 12), I was his girlfriend. We were friends throughout high school, then both went our separate ways in the way you do after school. A few weeks ago he showed up on Facebook and we started chatting, straight into the banter we used to have as kids. We’ve met up a few times too, and I’m really struggling to believe that so much time has passed since we were mates before!

The lyrics of this song don’t sum up us at all. Neither of us was the “one that got away”; and we never had any “us against the world” moments!

Just, for some reason, it makes me think of him.

And I kinda like that.

Leave a Reply

