The line in the sand

line in the sand
Everyone has a line they say they won’t cross. Whether it’s conscience, upbringing, or just a general moral code, there’s always a limit to what people will do.

Or is there?

I’m basically a good person. I don’t cheat, rarely lie, and always try to do the right thing and play by the rules. So it’s fairly safe to assume that my line is perfectly straight. No gray area, either something is right or something is wrong.

Lately though, I’ve struggled to find my line.

I want to do the right thing, and I sincerely hope that stays the case, but maybe I’d be prepared to go further than I once thought.

To protect my daughter I would do anything. If someone was hurting her I would happily kill them to make them stop. But I assume the same can be said for any parent.

Providing for my daughter is something I need to do. I need to work to put food on the table. I have never and would never expect the government to support us. The couple of times I’ve been unemployed recent I applied for literally hundreds of jobs to get myself back into work as soon I could.

If it came down to it though, if I couldn’t get any work and was struggling to pay my way, what would I do?

I’ve given this a lot of thought. I was brought up to know right from wrong but if I had to, I would cross the line. The question is, how far would I go?

I don’t approve of hard drugs. I’ve never tried them and to be honest have never seen the appeal. I’ve seen what they can do to people and to be honest, I think dealers need to be shot.

But…

If I couldn’t afford to feed my daughter I would do anything I could to bring in some money. If that means transporting a ‘package’ for £500 then so be it.

Maybe I would take a bribe to look the other way for something.

It’s got me wondering though, now I’ve realised my morals aren’t as pure as I once thought, what is it that separates me from the people who do these things on a daily basis? They might have a family they can’t support too.

Where do I go from here? I can’t take the moral high-ground just because I haven’t done anything wrong yet. Because if push comes to shove, I know I will.

I’ll do whatever I can to provide for my daughter.

Leave a Reply

