Coping with Depression & Anxiety – Tip 1

This is by no means going to be a comprehensive series of tips. Depending on how I feel, I may post daily, or not for another 6 months. What I’m saying is, don’t rely on me. I’m just going to share a few things when I can, that have helped me cope a little over the years. If it helps anyone else, then I’m very happy. But no amount of little tips from me are an alternative to seeking medical help.

Look after yourselves.

I’m a list maker. Always have been. I thoroughly relish the feeling of crossing something off of a list, once completed. When I’m in the quicksand though, it’s a completely different matter. Lists mock me, their endless items, all completely unachievable.

As I’ve said before, I enjoy making things. Clothes, art, fancy meals, anything really. I always have a few projects on the go, and at least another twenty or so in the planning stage. These form one of my best, and longest, lists.

Having it hanging over me when I’m sinking is no good. The pressure is far too much for me, and I’m lost for longer because of it.

I read this somewhere years ago (I’m not trying to take credit for it, if anyone knows the source I’ll gladly include it), and believe me, it helps. I cut some paper into squares, and write a project on each piece. I then fold them in half, twice, then put them in my little tin. If any day, I feel like I can tackle something, I just pull one out of the tin, a bit like choosing a raffle ticket.

It’s so simple, but it really works. I can’t see the full list, so the pressure isn’t there. I have no idea what I’m going to get, so I can’t psych myself out before I even start. I also include a few bonus ones, for example, “have a long, relaxing, candlelit bubble bath”. That way I get rewarded for being brave enough to take something on.

Give it a go.

Leave a Reply

